Recognition for Welsh Sport in New Year’s Honours List

The great achievements of individuals in Welsh sport have again been recognised in the Queen’s 2018 New Years honours list.

Among the recipients are WSA Board member Jon Morgan, who has been made an OBE for his services to disability sport. A retired head teacher, from Bishopston in Swansea, he stood down from the role of CEO for Disability Sport Wales this year having spent 15 years promoting a more inclusive approach to sport.

Also receiving an award is Helen Phillips, with an MBE for services to Welsh Gymnastics and Commonwealth Games Wales. One of the youngest ever to lead a National Governing Body, Helen was appointed Chair of Welsh Gymnastics in 2001 at the age of 29. In 2013, she became the first female Chair of Commonwealth Games Wales and is currently the only female Chair in the Commonwealth Games Federation’s European group.

Other Welsh Sports honours recipients include:

Most Excellent Order of the British Empire M.B.E:

John Voss – For services to Rugby. (Y Barri, South Glamorgan)

Roy Court – For services to Inclusive Judo. (Penylan, Cardiff)

Alan Davis – Coach, Maindy Flyers, Cardiff and Newport. For services to Youth Cycling and Diversity Inclusion in South Wales. (Cardiff)

Most Excellent Order of the British Empire O.B.E.:

Sam Warburton – For  services to Rugby Union. (Cardiff)

British Empire Medal (Civil Division) B.E.M.:

David Gravell – For services to charity, Sport and Education in Wales. (Kidwelly, Carmarthenshire)

Lee Coulson –  For services to Disability Basketball. (Aberystwyth, Ceredigion)

Share This

Leave a Comment

Our Partners

Scroll to Top
Carbon Literacy Training: 6 & 13 June 2024 WSA Facilities Community Webinar NED & Senior Leadership Training 2 Leading Sport: Board Composition and Inclusive Leadership